Skip to content

Bridesmaids’ Dresses: the hunt is on

January 26, 2010

Bridesmaids dresses are turning out to be one of the trickier things on my list – which I didn’t really expect. But when you’re shopping around, looking for dresses for four different people with different body types it’s hard to find a style that everyone can agree on/will feel comfortable in. And, I’m too much of a traditionalist to let everyone pick their own dresses as long as it’s the right color.

This was my first choice:

[via]

but this dress was drastically low and wasn’t appropriate for the bustier bridesmaids. As my sister said, it is an afternoon wedding with family, after all.

So, the current choices are these (listed in order of my preference):

(1)

[via]

It’s super cute on the model (so click on the picture to see it on her), but we’ve yet to have a bridesmaid try it on. I think this style is a little more universally flattering than the other dress. The one downside is it’s a typical bridesmaid’s dress price.

(2)

[via]

I like this dress a lot on the mannequin, but when it’s on the model, it’s not the most appealing dress in my opinion. The nice thing about this dress though, is it can be ordered for petites (which most of my bridesmaids are).

(3)

This is my least favorite, but still it has the upside for ordering for petites.

What do you think? Oh, and we’re using a sage green raw silk fabric for a sash for them, so keep that in mind!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 1:12 am

    I personally vote for #1. I love its simplicity, you can never go wrong with something simple. Of the three options, I think this would also be lovely with a sage-green sash around the waist, which will jazz it up just a smidge. The front is modest enough for any girls who may want more coverage, and the back is a little lower for a flattering hint of skin without showing off the goods.
    Keep in mind, if the dress that you decide on in the end can be easily altered to fit any petite bridesmaids in length.
    That’s my opinion, as a reader of your blog. All of them are great dresses! I think I chose #1 because I’m a simple girl at heart.
    HAVE FUN!!!

  2. February 1, 2010 2:29 am

    sounds like we had the same color scheme at our wedding :).

    you should check out target.com. my bridesmaids didn’t have matching dresses….just all brown & all tea length, but a few of them got there’s @ target online and they were only $50 w/ free shipping and they were super cute. worth a look if you haven’t decided yet.

Leave a Reply

